Berkshire Symphony Offers ‘A Portrait of New England’

The Berkshire Symphony

The Berkshire Symphony

(WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass.) – The Berkshire Symphony offers an all-American program, rooted in the soil of New England, including the music of three living composers, on Friday, November 11, 2011, at 8 p.m. at the MainStage of the ’62 Center of Theatre and Dance on the Williams College campus. Composers represented inlucde Charles Ives, Leonard Bernstein, John Adams, and Williamstown composers David Kechley and Stephen Dankner.

Charles Ives’s The Unanswered Question provides a solid reference point for everything on the program. Born in Danbury in 1874, Ives first posed his transcendental query to the universe in 1906, making himself at once part of the twentieth century and far ahead of his own time. The contemporary composer John Adams makes no bones about his connection to the genius of Ives. Though John Adams’s father did not exactly know Ives, Adams, born in Worcester in 1947, pays tribute in his composition: My Father Knew Charles Ives.

Leonard Bernstein, too, was born and educated in New England. The orchestra plays Bernstein’s exuberant Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.

Williams professor and composer David Kechley has drawn inspiration from many sources since his first premiere by the Seattle Symphony in 1968. Sea of Stones: a Concerto for Guitar and Alto Saxophone, draws on Kechley’s experiences in Japan and his previous work, In the Dragon’s Garden (1992), commissioned by the Ryoanji Duo, who will also be the soloists for the New England premiere of this dramatic work.

Former Williams faculty member Stephen Dankner presents Meditation for Alto Sax and String Orchestra performed in memory of Steven D. Bodner, a musician and teacher at Williams until his sudden and tragic death earlier this year.

There is a pre-concert talk with Ronald Feldman and composer David Kechley in Greylock Hall, next to the theater, at 7:15 p.m. These free events are open to the public, concert reservations can be made through the ’62 Center box office.

The Berkshire Symphony is conducted by Ronald Feldman and includes nearly 70 members, half of whom are students and half of whom are professional musicians. The ensemble presents four major concerts each season. In addition to performing the great standards of  orchestral repertoire a recurring theme each year is the performance of contemporary works. Championing the works of living American composers has been an integral part of the mission of the Berkshire Symphony.

Though the concert is free, reservations are recommended through the ’62 Center box office 413.597.2425.

Concert hotline: 413.597.3146




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.