Five Nominations Including Best Musical for Barrington Stage’s ‘The Game’

Rachel York in 'The Game' at Barrington Stage (photo Kevin Sprague)

(PITTSFIELD, Mass.) – Barrington Stage Company (BSC), the award-winning theater in downtown Pittsfield, garnered five award nominations from the Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) for last summer’s production of the musical The Game. The nominations include Best Musical; Julianne Boyd, Best Director of a Musical; Darren Cohen, Best Musical Director; Jen Moeller, Best Costume Design; and Jeff Croiter/Grant Yeager, Best Lighting Design.

Winners will be announced at the 16th Annual IRNE Awards Ceremony, which will take place at Boston Cyclorama at the Boston Center for the Arts on Monday, April 23, 2012 at 7:30 pm.

Directed by BSC’s artistic director Julianne Boyd, The Game features a musical score by Megan Cavallari, with book and lyrics by Amy Powers and David Topchik. The sexy, heart-pounding musical, based on the 18th-century scandalous novel Les Liaisons Dangereuses, returned last August to Barrington Stage, where it received its world premiere in 2003 to critical raves and audience acclaim.

The production starred Drama Desk winner Rachel York and Graham Rowat in the roles of Merteuil and Valmont. The cast also featured Amy Decker (Madame de Tourvel), Joy Franz (who originated the role Madame de Rosemonde in 2003), Chris Peluso (Le Chavelier Danceny), Sarah Stevens (Cecile), Christianne Tisdale (Madame de Volanges), Analisa Leaming (Emilie), Amanda Salvatore (Opera Singer), and Stephen Horst (Opera Singer). Taylor Anderson, Michael Hewitt, Hannah Richter and Michael Wessells, BSC’s 2011 Musical Theatre apprentices, were in the ensemble.

A scene from 'The Game' at Barrington Stage (photo Kevin Sprague)

The Game was choreographed by Daniel Pelzig, with music direction by Darren Cohen, settings by Michael Anania, costumes by Jennifer Moeller, lighting by Jeff Croiter and Grant Yeager, orchestrations by Mike Morris, fight direction by Ryan Winkles, and Renee Lutz, production stage manager.

The Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Awards were founded by Beverly Creasey of the Journal Newspapers and Larry Stark of TheaterMirror in 1997. The IRNE Awards recognize the extraordinary wealth of talent in the Boston theatre community and beyond. The IRNE Committee is comprised of David Brooks Andrews, Sheila Barth, Jules Becker, Kay Bourne, Beverly Creasey, Shirley Esthimer, Richard Fahey, Guy Giampapa, Norm Gross, Nancy Grossman, Bryce Lambert, Beatrice Lee, Kilian Melloy and Larry Star.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.