Andris Nelsons Brings Curtain Down at Tanglewood with Beethoven’s 9th

Andris Nelsons (photo Marco Borggreve)

Andris Nelsons (photo Marco Borggreve)

(LENOX, Mass.) – Music director Andris Nelsons will lead the Boston Symphony Orchestra in its traditional season-ending performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 at Tanglewood on Sunday, August 28, at 2:30 p.m. The performance features the BSO, Tanglewood Festival Chorus, and vocal soloists including soprano Rachel Willis-Sørensen, mezzo-soprano Ruxandra Donose, tenor Joseph Kaiser, and bass Günther Groissböck.

The program will open with Aaron Copland’s “Quiet City,” featuring BSO principals Thomas Rolfs on trumpet and Robert Sheena on English horn.

Following the close of the BSO’s season, Tanglewood will host a series of performances, including NPR’s oddly informative weekly hour-long news quiz program, Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me!, live at Tanglewood on Thursday, September 1, at 8 p.m.; the B-52s — dubbed “The World’s Greatest Party Band” and known worldwide for hits such as “Love Shack,” “Rock Lobster,” and “Roam”—on Friday, September 2; and Keith Lockhart and the Boston Pops Swing Orchestra performing “Dancing Under the Stars,” a festive, toe-tapping performance, to close out the 2016 season on Saturday, September 3.

the B-52s

the B-52s

Sunday, August 28, 2:30 p.m. Shed

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Andris Nelsons, conductor

Thomas Rolfs, trumpet

Robert Sheena, English horn

Rachel Willis-Sørensen, soprano

Ruxandra Donose, mezzo-soprano

Joseph Kaiser, tenor

Günther Groissböck, bass

Tanglewood Festival Chorus

COPLAND Quiet City

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 9





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.