Chamber Concert Features Works by Ives, Carter, Dvorak at the Clark

Isabel Lepanto Gleicher

Isabel Lepanto Gleicher

(WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass.) – Leading players of The Orchestra Now and the Juilliard School will perform works by Charles Ives, Elliott Carter, and Antonin Dvorak on the Spencer Terrace of the Lunder Center at Stone Hill at the Clark Art Institute on Saturday, September 3, at 3 pm. The chamber music repertoire in this free concert is inspired by the Clark’s exhibition “Sensing Place: Reflecting on Stone Hill,” on view through October 10.

Performers include Izzy Lepanto Gleicher on flute, Kemp Jernigan on oboe, Eric Umble on clarinet, David A. Nagy on bassoon, and Patrick Jankowski on horn.

Certain composers wrote their music no matter what the circumstance and were immune to their surroundings, such as Arnold Schoenberg. His place was not topical but historical. With Igor Stravinsky, in contrast, there are clear indications of his style immediately changing, depending on where he found himself.

As a musical member of the American Romantic movement, Charles Ives sought to convey emotional experience, memory, and sense of place in his music, and many of his pieces were written to recall specific experiences and events. The audience will hear Ives’s famous Piano Sonata No. 2, rearranged for winds.


Eric Umble

Eric Umble


  • Charles Ives: ‘The Alcotts’ from Piano Sonata No. 2, Concord, Mass., 1840–60 (1905-1915)
  • Elliott Carter: Woodwind Quintet (1948)
  • Antonín Dvo?ák: String Quartet No.12 “American Quartet”


The Orchestra Now is an ensemble of forward-thinking, exceptional musicians working to redefine what it means to be an orchestra. Orchestra Now members, in residence at Bard College, have had recent engagements at Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Members of this unique training orchestra and master’s degree program join with students from the renowned Julliard music program for this special event.

For more information, visit the Clark Art Institute or call 413 458 2303.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.